NATURE CONSERVATION AWARD

Field Naturalists' Societies form a link between professional scientists and lay people by providing facilities and activities for interested amateur naturalists and conservationists. The award is therefore open to lay people as well as professionals working in the cause of natural history conservation. Outstanding contributions may be in the form of significant effort in promoting natural history and nature conservation through writing, photography, film-making and other activities; demonstrating by example the value of conservation of natural areas, assisting others in protecting areas or species under threat or conducting relevant research.

The award currently takes the form of a medal. It is of solid sterling silver, silver being the first metal to be mined in South Australia. The converse side of the medal bears three flowers of Sturt;s Deserrt Pea - the floral emblem of the State and of the Society - ringed by the full name of the Society. The reverse side carries an impression of the pre-Cambrian (Ediacaran) fossil animal, *Tribrachidium heraldicum*, which is unique to South Australia. As the name suggests, it occurs in the form of three heraldic arms. Thus the medal depicts an animal, a plant and a mineral, and the three arms represent the non-living elements of the environment: earth, air and water.

RECIPIENTS

- 2015 Graham Medlin
- 2014 David Armstrong
- 2013 Colin and Joan Beer
- 2012 Gillian Briggs (posthumous)
- 2011 Tony Robinson
- 2010 Chris Daniels
- 2009 Rona Sakko
- 2008 (no award)
- 2007 Pam and David Catcheside
- 2006 Robert Sharrad
- 2005 Bryan Womersley
- 2004 David Paton
- 2003 (no award)
- 2002 Mike Tyler
- 2001 Archie McArthur

- 2000 Darrell Kraehenbuehl
- 1999 Michael Grady
- 1998 Tony Spooner (posthumous)
- 1997 (no award)
- 1996 Bryan Mitchell
- 1995 David Symon
- 1994 Joan Paton
- 1993 Gordon Gardiner
- 1992 Hans Mincham
- 1991 Enid Robertson
- 1990 Maud McBriar
- 1989 (no award)
- 1988 John Sibley